Interview with Chelsea Walker Flagg, Author of Tinsey Clover

Chelsea Walker Flagg is an award-winning, best-selling author of adult and children’s books alike. She’s very passionate about encouraging kids to write, and even helps them publish their own books. She lives in Boulder, Colorado with her husband and three practically perfect daughters. She also lives at https://chelseaflagg.com. You can follow her on Twitter at https://twitter.com/chelseaflagg, Instagram at https://twitter.com/chelseaflagg and Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/chelseawalkerflagg.

When did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. Back in second grade, I’d bring in little stories I’d written (mostly about cats) to my classroom and beg my teacher to let me read them to the class. Things didn’t stop there. I wrote my first novel in middle school, although I sadly never published it. My life continued along and I fell into the trap of people telling me writing was a worthless occupation. I bounced around from job to job, and always found myself gravitating toward the writing piece of any project. Finally, I took the leap and allowed myself to really call myself a writer. I haven’t looked back once.

What is this book about?

TINSEY CLOVER is the story of a little elfin girl in the Icelandic Bungaborg Forest. She feels frustrated because her corner of the forest isn’t allowed to leave or interact with anyone else. Using her great math skills, some quirky magic, and some unlikely new friends, Tinsey goes on an adventure to learn that sometimes things aren’t quite what they seem.

What inspired you to write it?

Kids listen, you know? Whether we think they do or not, they hear about the exclusion and segregation in our world these days. I just thought a story about a spunky little girl rising above stuff like that to make a difference in her own life would be a breath of fresh air. An inspiration that all kids can be a little light, no matter how small they are.

Who is your favorite character from the book?

I feel a very special place in my heart for Tinsey, because I think she is me in a lot of ways. Most of my young readers have really loved Sky, the bunny rabbit who’s way too fluffy for his own good, though.

Where can readers purchase a copy of your book?

You can find TINSEY CLOVER online at Amazon. It’s also available on Barnes and Noble, and a few Colorado bookstores right now. (More to come!)

What is one piece of advice you would like to share with aspiring authors everywhere?

KEEP WRITING! It’s the same advice I try to give every single kid I encounter. There have always been plenty of people along the way who discourage writers or convince them it’s not a worthwhile activity. Those people are lying to you. If you’re passionate about writing, keep writing. You will find so much power, self-awareness, and joy when you put your words down on paper. And no, it’s never going to be perfect. And yes, some people won’t care for your style or your stories, but that doesn’t matter. Write. Anyway. I can’t emphasis that enough.

What is up next for you?

I’m excited to get pen to paper on a TINSEY CLOVER sequel! I’m equally excited to announce my intention to set up a service to help young writers publish their own books! Follow me for more information on that soon.

Leave a comment