Interview with Carolyn Wolfe, Author of The Unhappy Little Dragon Lessons Learned

Joining us today is Carolyn Wolfe, author of The Unhappy Little Dragon, Lessons Learned. This is a children’s book geared toward ages  6 yrs old and up. 

Thank you for joining us today, Carolyn. Can you please start off by telling us a bit about yourself? 

I would be happy to. I am a free lance writer,  poet and  author of six books, which include my poetry, short stories and stories written for children. I also write articles for our local monthly newspaper, The Old Town Compass, here in Winchester.  One thing I enjoy very much about being a writer for children, is that I  get invited to speak at local kid’s festivals, as a story teller.  At these events I get to  play dressup in a costume and show off my  super colorful, dragon hand puppet.  It is at these times when  being a writer is most rewarding because you get to see the kids actually enjoying listening to your book. 

When did you first get bit by the writing bug? 

As a kid, I always loved playing pretend and making up stories. I guess I still do. 

Why did you decide to write stories for children? 

I have always enjoyed writing poetry and  decided to write  bedtime stories in verse for my little nieces’s and  my nephew when they were very young.  I love fantasy stories and a few years ago decided to try my hand at writng a narrative story for children, that would be fanciful and also meaningful to them. 

Do you believe it is harder to write books for a younger audience? 

Yes, I think that it is  more of a challenge to keep  the children’s attention.  I believe the subject of the story also needs to have some  meaning to their life as well, so that they can connect to the story. 

What is your favorite part of writing for young people? 

The smiles on their faces as they react to the book! I love having a wide canvas to paint the story on, that literaly anythinhg goes- as long as it makes sense in the context of the story. 

Can you tell us what your latest book is all about? 

This is my latest book, and it is all about a little Dragon who is eight seasons old, who cannot control his fire. He breathes fire at the most unhelpful times. This story is about how he comes to learn more about his ability and how special he is, after having an adventure in the woods.  

What inspired you to write it? 

I was daydreaming out the window of my office one day and  seemed to see a dragon’s face in the leaves of a big tree across the parking lot. The leaves shifted and it seemed the dragon smiled.  I started writing the story right then. 

Where can readers purchase a copy? 

They can  purchase a copy online through www.amazon.com, and through Barnes and Noble online. The book is available in print and also as an e-book. The e-book version  can be purchased at www.dieselebooks.com and www.lybrary.com 

Do you have a website and/or blog where readers can find out more? 

Yes, for more information  my website can be visited at : www.whenthemoonspeaks.com. I also have a facebook page titled Carolyn Wolfe’s Poetry and Prose.

What is up next for you? 

I have written another children’s story, all in verse titled: My Knight At The Faire, which I hope to  have out by this December 2012. I am also working on another collection of poetry for a general audience and a book of my original  and very spooky, short stories that will be for a young adult readership. 

Do you have anything else to add? 

I just wanted to thank you so much for this interview, and for letting me get the word out about my new book! 

Thank you for spending time with us today, Carolyn. We wish you much success.

2 thoughts on “Interview with Carolyn Wolfe, Author of The Unhappy Little Dragon Lessons Learned

  1. Thank you for the interview today! I just wanted to let everyone know that I will be around today to answer any questions that your readers may have. Again, Thank you!

Leave a comment