In My Bath by Beth Bence Reinke

 Imagination and bath time come together in this delightful book by Beth Bence Reinke.

In my Bath takes the reader on a fun adventure with a boy who imagines he is jumping waves, floating on the tide, jumping from lily pad to lily pad, and so much more.

I wonder if Reinke has the heart of a child to capture the delight of pretending you’re something much different than you are in this wonderful story that could help encourage regular bath time.

I don’t know how your children are, but each of my kids went through a stage where bathing was akin to torture. Getting them into the tub was such a struggle I sometimes ended up just washing them in the sink. Where was this book then?

Ginger Nielson provided the illustrations for In My Bath. I couldn’t help but think of our vacations to the Outer Banks of North Carolina as I read the book. The colors she used, the marine wildlife depicted, and everything from water foam to the sheer enjoyment seen in the boy’s eyes, remind me of our times at the beach.

And once bath time is over, the boy’s toys get picked up, we see him in his pajamas with his toothbrush in his hand, and he’s thinking of new adventures he’ll have in his bath the next time.

In My Bath by Beth Bence Rienke would make excellent reading right before starting your nightly routine of winding the kids down and preparing them for bed. But don’t be surprised if they ask to read this one throughout the day. With this much fun and adventure, it won’t be on the shelf long.
 

Rating:   🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  • Publisher: 4RV Publishing LLC
  • ISBN-10: 0982588666
  • ISBN-13: 978-0982588666
  • SRP:  $13.99


  • Bookmark & Share

    10 thoughts on “In My Bath by Beth Bence Reinke

    1. I am reading this lovely and fun story now. What a neat idea to help kids, especially boys, enjoy their baths. Nice review, Cheryl.

      Congratulations on a wonderful book, Beth, and your illustrations are delightful, Ginger.

    2. Aw, thanks everyone. Good reviews are easy to put together when a book is this good. Beth, keep up the great work. Be sure to keep me in mind when the next one comes out.

    3. Will definitely have to check this out. At first my 6 year old loved baths, but this year for some reason it’s like pulling teeth. Scratch that…she actually likes getting her teeth pulled. She’s a strange one. 🙂 Anyway, this book is definitely on our to read list.

    4. Vanessa,
      I’m hoping this book will help kids who are afraid of water or who hate bathtime. I know one grandma who bought the book for her 2-year-old grandson who is afraid of the bathtub and the pool. I hope you and your daughter enjoy it! 🙂

    5. Pingback: A Wish and A Prayer by Beth Bence Reinke « TC&TBC

    Leave a comment