Interview with Sean McCartney, Author of The Secrets of the Magical Medallions

Joining us today is Sean McCartney, author of the young adult novel, The Treasure Hunters Club: The Secrets of the Magical Medallions.

Thank you for joining us today, Sean. Can you please start off by telling us a bit about yourself?

I am currently a sixth grade Social Studies teacher at Glenwood Middle School in the Plain Local District of Canton, Ohio. 

When did you first get bit by the writing bug?

I have always written stories even as a young kid, so it was something that I have always done it just took me some time to be able to write a novel. 

Why did you decide to write stories for the YA market?

As a middle school teacher I saw a real need for books that would entertain and help the reluctant reader. We have too many kids that view reading as a chore but I was hoping to change that with The Treasure Hunters Club series. 

What is your favorite part of writing for this group? What is the greatest challenge?

My most favorite part of writing for this group is taking them on an adventure that they could see themselves doing.

I think the most difficult part is keeping their attention with so many other things going on around them. 

Can you tell us what your latest book is all about?

The story is about thirteen-year-old Tommy Reed and his treasure hunting club friends who receive a medallion from his famous treasure hunting uncle, “Diamond” Jack Reed, and must find the secret behind it before and ancient evil hunts them down. 

What inspired you to write it?

As I said, I thought it important to have a book series that appealed to the reluctant readers as well as the ones who love to read. 

Where can readers purchase a copy?

 Amazon is probably the best bet. With the trouble Borders has been having I am not sure which stores are left.

Do you have a website and/or blog where readers can find out more?

Yes, the website is www.treasurehuntersclubbook.com and you can go there to see some short stories, videos and much more about the series. 

What is up next for you?

We are currently in the final edit stage for the second book in The Treasure Hunters Club series which will be released May 7th of this year. The title is Breaking the Beale Code and it is another fun action adventure for the club. 

Do you have anything else to add?

Yes, please go and get yourself a copy of The Treasure Hunters Club: The Secrets of the Magical Medallions. It is well worth it. I hate shameless plugs but I had to give one.

Thank you for spending time with us today, Sean. We wish you much success.

Thank you so much for having me.



Bookmark & Share

4 thoughts on “Interview with Sean McCartney, Author of The Secrets of the Magical Medallions

  1. I have always been a fan of authors who wrote with the young reader in mind. My parents always felt that if it was entertaining and had me reading the better and I feel that way with my children. As a parent I find that enough entertaining books are limited to them in schools because they are being censored. Amen to the authors who keep writing entertaining books that magically engagethem!

Leave a comment