It Rained Warm Bread by Gloria Moskowitz-Sweet

Moishe was thirteen when the Nazis invaded Poland in 1939 and he was sent to Auschwitz. His home was ravaged, his family torn apart by illness and abduction. Years of brutality drew on as Moishe moved from one labor camp to the next. Finally, towards the end of the war and at the peak of Moishe’s deepest despair, a simple act of kindness by a group of courageous Czech women redeemed his faith that goodness could survive the trials of war: That was the day it rained warm bread.

Age Range: 9 – 13 years
Grade Level: 4 – 8
Hardcover: 160 pages
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) (August 13, 2019)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1250165725
ISBN-13: 978-1250165725

Purchase here!

God Squad Mission Him-Possible II, the Giant Slayers by Darlene Laney

The God Squad tackles a new mission in God Squad Mission Him-Possible II, the Giant Slayers

Angel takes the lead on this mission of helping a fellow student coping with being bullied by her former best friend. When Taylor ends up in the hospital after a suspicious accident, Angel fears she is not up to the task. Her fears and odd dreams of battling giants leave her wondering if she’s not cut out for the God Squad, but a mysterious encounter might get the mission back on track and help wipe out bullying at Carver Preparatory.

One of the most challenging issues facing today’s schools is bullying. In the sequel to The God Squad: Mission Him-Possible, The Distorted Mirror, author Darlene Laney tackles bullying head on. Using the armor of God, Angel and the other members of the God Squad find a way to help Taylor make changes in her own life and in the lives of the other students. The side story of how what happened in Angel’s past impacts her ability to help Taylor adds even more conflict. At the end, each member of the God Squad is featured sharing what piece of God’s armor she uses and how. Finally, Angel has a few words of advice for the readers about bullying.

I enjoyed this book from cover to cover. A story of friendship, facing your fears, and empowerment, young people will find much to draw their interest. Sure hope there is another God Squad story in the works.

Rating: 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

File Size: 2411 KB
Print Length: 123 pages
Publisher: Halo Publishing International (January 28, 2019)
Publication Date: January 28, 2019
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
Language: English
ASIN: B07N7QBTXN

I received a copy of this book from the author. This review contains my honest opinions, which I have not been compensated for in any way.

Currently Reading: The God Squad: Mission Him-Possible II, The Giant Slayers by Darlene Laney

The God Squad invites you to come along with them in this exciting and sometimes mysterious mission. Angel is assigned as leader in this episode. Their mission: rescue a fellow classmate being targeted by bullies and help make Carver Preparatory a safe place for all students. However, before the God Squad can help Taylor, the mission quickly unravels and takes a dramatic turn when after meeting with the God Squad, Taylor ends up in the hospital due to a suspicious accident. Angel finds herself overtaken with doubting her abilities to lead the mission and battling the giants in her dreams. She ends up at odds with the other members of the God Squad and questions if she should continue in the group. Just when all seems lost, Angel has an encounter with a mysterious stranger and is introduced to the “just in case clause.” But, is it enough to get the mission back on track and defeat the giants overtaking Carver Preparatory?
Join the God Squad as they take on this new and exciting mission in Mission Him-Possible II, the Giant Slayers!

Paperback: 140 pages
Publisher: Halo Publishing International (January 25, 2019)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 161244721X
ISBN-13: 978-1612447216

Purchase from the author’s website or at Amazon

New from Guardian Angel Publishing: Bubba and Bridgette’s Adventure by Mary Jean Kelso

Bubba, the goat, and Bridgette, the horse, escape their boundaries to venture out into the world to visit a nearby subdivision. The rooster, Roadie, climbs on the goat’s back to ride along on the adventure.
Age Range: 6 – 12 years
Grade Level: 1 – 6
Paperback: 26 pages
Publisher: Guardian Angel Publishing (February 26, 2019)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1616339675
ISBN-13: 978-1616339678

Purchase from:

Guardian Angel Publishing
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

New Release: New Kid by Jerry Craft

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Age Range: 8 – 12 years
Grade Level: 3 – 7
Hardcover: 256 pages
Publisher: HarperCollins (February 5, 2019)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062691201
ISBN-13: 978-0062691200

Purchase here!

New Release: The Third Mushroom by Jennifer L. Holm

Ellie’s grandpa Melvin is a world-renowned scientist . . . in the body of a fourteen-year-old boy. His feet stink, and he eats everything in the refrigerator–and Ellie is so happy to have him around. Grandpa may not exactly fit in at middle school, but he certainly keeps things interesting. When he and Ellie team up for the county science fair, no one realizes just how groundbreaking their experiment will be. The formula for eternal youth may be within their reach! And when Ellie’s cat, Jonas Salk, gets sick, the stakes become even higher. But is the key to eternal life really the key to happiness? Sometimes even the most careful experiments yield unexpected–and wonderful–results.

Age Range: 8 – 12 years
Grade Level: 3 – 7
Lexile Measure: 0500
Hardcover: 240 pages
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers (September 4, 2018)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1524719803
ISBN-13: 978-1524719807

Purchase from:

Amazon
Barnes and Noble

Too Big by Judy Dearborn Nill

You’ll find the topics of bullying, peer pressure, friendship and learning to accept who you are wrapped up in a fabulously engaging story with Too Big by Judy Dearborn Nill.

Shelby Bradshaw considers skipping the fifth grade and going right to middle school. Academically that won’t be a problem, but it’s really to escape all the teasing she has endured since her growth spurt. She’ll miss being with her best friend Zoe, but maybe it will all be worth it.

Though there are many teaching points and topics for discussion, the young reader will also discover a great plot and interesting characters. They might know a Shelby or a Zoe or a Marissa or a Deke or a Kenny. They might have experienced some of what these characters have. Misunderstandings happen. People aren’t always who you think they are. Sometimes actions have bad consequences. Maybe a good idea ends up not being so good later.

Too Big tackles real issues that kids are dealing with and handles them without trivializing them or the real feelings young people must cope with. Too Big is an awesome book. I’m so glad the author asked me to review it. I’ll be looking for more of her work in the future.

Rating: 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Age Range: 8 – 12 years
Grade Level: 3 – 6
Paperback
Publisher: Guardian Angel Publishing; Large type / large print edition edition (October 22, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1616338075
ISBN-13: 978-1616338077

I received a copy of this book from the author. This review contains my honest opinions, which I have not been compensated for in any way.