What Goes Up by Paula Bowles


Put a dragon in a story and it’s an instant hit. This holds true inΒ What Goes UpΒ by author/illustrator Paula Bowles.

Martin the dragon is sad because he longs to fly but his wings are too small. He tries all sorts of ways to fly, but always comes down with a CRASH! Β  It takes the village children to show Martin the importance of believing in yourself.

Bowles has created a charming book of a sad dragon who wishes to fly. His friendship with the village children plays a big role, so young children witness the importance of friends in helping a person–or in this case a dragon–reach his goals. What I like the most aboutΒ What Goes Up is that there isn’t an easy resolution to the problem. It takes Martin many days of practice and exercise before his wings grow big enough to carry him.

The artwork you see on the front cover is similar to what is inside. Soft colors add comfort and sweetness to a delightful story. I’ll be looking for more of Bowles’ work.

Rating: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Hardcover: 32 pages
Publisher: Tiger Tales (March 1, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1589251199
ISBN-13: 978-1589251199

I received a free hardcover of this book from the publisher. This review contains my honest opinions, for which I have not been compensated in any way.

Scary Mary by Paula Bowles

Scary Mary rules the barnyard. She scares the other animals away. She hogs all the sunflower seeds. She builds a fort to keep the others out. She soon discovers, however, that being scary is very lonely.

In this zany book written and illustrated by Paula Bowles, young readers find a bully of a bird learning a valuable lesson. While we don’t know why Scary Mary acts as she does, we are treated to seeing how happy and playful the barnyard becomes once all the animals are friends. Scary Mary could be used as a springboard for short parent/child discussions about the possibilities of why Scary Mary acts the way she does, which could provide children with insight into bullies they might meet in real life. I also like the way Bowles has Scary Mary being the one to go to the other animals after she has scared them off and asking them to play. The reader sees Scary Mary knows she’s wrong and takes the first step toward making things right.

I love Bowles’s artwork for this book. It is similiar in style to that of Betsy Lewin in many of Doreen Cronin’s books. It’s outlandish. It’s big. Just like Scary Mary is at the beginning. This is a fun book with a fabulous message. I highly recommend it.

Rating:Β  πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  • Hardcover:24 pages
  • Publisher:Tiger Tales (March 1, 2012)
  • ISBN-10:1589251105
  • ISBN-13: 978-1589251106