Clever Tom Contracted by 4RV Publishing!!!

 

I am happy to announce 4RV Publishing has contracted to publish my fifth children’s book, Clever Tom. This will join Little Shepherd, A Christmas Kindness, Macaroni and Cheese for Thanksgiving, and Amos Faces His Bully on my author’s bookshelf. This is my second children’s book to be published by 4RV Publishing. I will keep you posted on the release date.

Launching This Month! – Random House Graphic

 

Random House Graphic is launching this month with the release of The Runaway Princess by Johan Troïanowski.

This princess can’t resist the lure of adventure, but her parents aren’t quite on board in this fantastical graphic novel perfect for fans of Princess in Black and Phoebe and Her Unicorn! Robin? Robin? Robin?! Where are you? She couldn’t have gone far. . . . Princesses don’t run away to have their own adventures. Right? Princesses stay quietly and obediently at home. They would never want mermaids and swamps and pirates and getting kidnapped to be a part of their lives. Not this princess! Adventures await when Robin (bored of princess-ing all the time) embarks on the best adventure of her life—meeting friends along the way as she travels through the magical landscape of her country. But her parents aren’t so pleased—and they’re coming to find her and bring her back to the castle, no matter how she feels about it!

Johan Troïanowski was born in Lyon in 1985. He graduated from Beaux-arts de Toulon in 2003, then started a comics anthology called Brouillon. In 2006, he created and became president of the association Little Blue Bear and White Rabbit, which promotes graphic novels; he’s also an advocate for wordless comics. As well as making graphic novels, he writes and illustrates poetry for children and runs workshops around the country.

Follow Johan’s Amazon page here.

Meet Random House Graphic Publisher Director Gina Gagliano here.

 

 

Congratulations to Random House Graphic. I hope their authors will be frequent guests at The Children’s and Teens’ Book Connection.

Coming Soon: Catherine’s War by Julia Billet

 

“A shining story of a young girl who struggles to come of age and find her place in a world fraught with danger.” —Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Newbery Honor-winning author of Hitler Youth

* Winner of the Youth Prize at the Angoulême International Comics Festival (voted by readers) * Winner of the Artémisia Prize for Historical Fiction * Winner of the Andersen Premio Prize *

A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that asks universal questions about a young girl’s coming of age story, her identity, her passions, and her first loves.

At the Sèvres Children’s Home outside Paris, Rachel Cohen has discovered her passion—photography. Although she hasn’t heard from her parents in months, she loves the people at her school, adores capturing what she sees in pictures, and tries not to worry too much about Hitler’s war. But as France buckles under the Nazi regime, danger closes in, and Rachel must change her name and go into hiding.

As Catherine Colin, Rachel Cohen is faced with leaving the Sèvres Home—and the friends she made there—behind. But with her beautiful camera, Catherine possesses an object with the power to remember. For the rest of the war, Catherine bears witness to her own journey, and to the countless heroes whose courage and generosity saved the lives of many, including her own.

Based on the author’s mother’s own experiences as a hidden child in France during World War II, Catherine’s War is one of the most accessible historical graphic novels featuring a powerful girl since Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi—perfect for fans of Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief, Anne Frank, or Helen Keller.

Includes a map and photographs of the real Catherine and her wartime experiences, as well as an interview with author Julia Billet.

“Many of the settings are beautifully detailed, and the characters undeniably expressive. Catherine’s ability to find beauty in the world makes for a forward-looking read.” Booklist *(starred review)*

“This story will make readers want to join the Resistance. Characters are drawn so vividly that, long afterward, readers will remember their names.” —Kirkus

An Indie Next List Pick!

*A Junior Library Guild selection*

Age Range: 8 – 12 years
Grade Level: 3 – 7
Hardcover: 176 pages
Publisher: HarperAlley (January 21, 2020)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062915606
ISBN-13: 978-0062915603

Order from:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Books-A-Million

Indiebound

New from 4RV Publishing: I’m Sick by Laura Wellington

See how Jasper’s giant imagination brings laughter and fun to catching the flu bug. You’ll be delighted and amazed … and may even want to catch the flu bug, too. Or, maybe not, but a child’s imagination can make a difference.

Age Range: 3 – 6 years
Grade Level: Kindergarten – 1
Paperback: 48 pages
Publisher: 4RV Children’s Corner (May 10, 2019)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1940310881
ISBN-13: 978-1940310886

This is the first book in the Jasper’s Giant Imagination series. I had the privilege of working as an editor on this series. How thrilling to see it make its way into the world.

You can purchase I’m Sick by Laura Wellington from:

4RV Publishing

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

For more books from 4RV Publishing, visit their online catalog at www.4rvpublishingcatalog.com

Coming in September: Giraffe Problems by Jory John

Can you guess what’s making this giraffe self-conscious? Could it be . . . HIS ENORMOUS NECK?? Yes, it’s exactly that–how on earth did you figure it out?

Cyrus the giraffe can’t understand why his neck is as long and bendy and, well, ridiculous as it is. No other animal has a neck this absurd. He’s tried disguising it, dressing it up, strategically hiding it behind bushes–honestly, anything you can think of, he’s tried.

Age Range: 3 – 7 years
Grade Level: Preschool – 2
Hardcover: 42 pages
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers (September 25, 2018)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1524772038
ISBN-13: 978-1524772031

Pre-order from:

Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Books-A-Million
Indiebound
iBooks