Writing Goal Planning

goal

My last post set forth my writing goals, but I know they need to be broken down into smaller chunks to make them more manageable. So here it goes.

Main Goal: Complete Amelia’s Mission by December 31, 2016.

Hard to believe I am giving myself a whole year for this, but spring will be very busy and summer is dedicated to the kids. I love this story and won’t give up on it. Most of my research is done, so writing should go smoothly when I have the time to dedicate to it.

Smaller Goal: Write one chapter a month. Doable since twice a month I need to bring something new to my critique group.

Smaller Goal: Time block one Saturday afternoon to writing. 

Main Goal: Continue to attend critique group twice a month.

We meet at the library the first Monday of the month and at my office the third Monday, so at least I am sure to get one in on a monthly basis. At these meetings I am getting feedback on: A Shepherd’s Journey (Christian fiction), Montezuma’s Revenge (romantic suspense novella), and Searching for Popularity (tween/teen fiction).

Smaller Goal: Time block on my calendar so I don’t put other work in its place.

Main Goal: Edit The Sisterhood.

This was the first full-length novel I finished. It’s women’s fiction, and I feel it has a lot of promise. It just needs a ton of editing. I doubt I would get all the way through it, but even if I got through a quarter of it, that would be progress.

Smaller Goal: Time block one evening a week to edits.

Smaller Goal: Have first half of book edited by May 31, 2016. Honestly not sure right now if this is realistic. Just have to see what the spring brings for real estate and other work.

Have you set any writing goals for yourself this year? How about other goals? Do you break them down so they are more manageable?

2 thoughts on “Writing Goal Planning

  1. I really like the way you’ve done this. I might borrow your ideas. My mind has been trying to come up with goals for this year, but there’s so much I want to do they’re all scrambled up. Must get busy and work on them.

  2. Thanks, Bev. I usually do this annually and then review once a quarter. I’m learning how visual I am in the process, so making lots of changes for 2016. Hoping they lead to more productivity and less spinning my wheels.

Leave a Reply

