Writing Goals for 2016

goal

Hard to believe it’s that time of year again. Before I get into the goals I am setting for 2016, I would like to review what I’ve accomplished in 2015.

Because this was going to be my first full year of working outside the home, I kept my goals simple and few: daily Bible reading, complete editing projects, complete Amelia’s Mission by May 31st, and reconsider my blogging duties. So, how did I make out?

Daily Bible reading.

This has gone from being a chapter a day to a verse a day, but at least I am still reading. In addition, I’m working books like The Purpose of Christmas by Rick Warren into my reading schedule.

Complete editing projects.

I had two large editing projects this year. Both of them worked out well and I was glad to see they both made it to the publishers on time.

Complete Amelia’s Mission by May 31st.

As I mentioned in July when I last updated my goals, this seemed realistic when I set it in January. Then my real estate business took off and writing was pushed aside. I ended 2015 with fourteen closings and five rentals. I currently have three listings and numerous potential sales coming up.

So, where does that leave poor Amelia?

With thirteen chapters completed, I haven’t touched the manuscript since July. Not that I haven’t been doing some writing, it’s just on other projects and not as much as I would like. I have, however, regularly attended our critique group meetings, so that means I always need to have something to bring with me.

GOALS FOR 2016

I need to remain realistic in setting my goals for 2016. I’m thinking the amount of time dedicated to writing will be the same or less than it was this year. In addition, I want to make sure to keep some balance between my personal and professional lives. Kids are only little so long. My girls are already in middle school and high school.

Complete Amelia’s Mission by December 31, 2016. 

Hard to believe I am giving myself a whole year for this, but spring will be very busy and summer is dedicated to the kids. I love this story and won’t give up on it. Most of my research is done, so writing should go smoothly when I have the time to dedicate to it.

Continue to attend critique group twice a month.

We meet at the library the first Monday of the month and at my office the third Monday, so at least I am sure to get one in on a monthly basis. At these meetings I am getting feedback on: A Shepherd’s Journey (Christian fiction), Montezuma’s Revenge (romantic suspense novella), and Searching for Popularity (tween/teen fiction). 

Edit The Sisterhood.

This was the first full-length novel I finished. It’s women’s fiction, and I feel it has a lot of promise. It just needs a ton of editing. I doubt I would get all the way through it, but even if I got through a quarter of it, that would be progress.

 

What is not under my control?

My publisher has two of my picture books under contract. They’ve had them for a while, but are awaiting available illustrators to work on them. My hope is Macaroni and Cheese for Thanksgiving will be out next fall, but we’ll have to see. I don’t think Amos Faces His Bully will be out until 2017 or later.

That’s it for me. Have you set your writing goals for 2016 yet? Feel free to share them.

 

Leave a Reply

