A Chat with Donna McDine, Author of ‘Dee and Deb Off They Go Kindergarten First Day Jitters’

donnaMulti award-winning children’s author, Donna McDine’s creative side laid dormant for many years until her desire to write sparked in 2007. Her latest release Dee and Deb Off They Go Kindergarten First Day Jitters joins the four early reader children’s picture books, A Sandy Grave (January 2014), Powder Monkey (May 2013), Hockey Agony (January 2013) and The Golden Pathway (August 2010) all with Guardian Angel Publishing. Join McDine as her adventures continue as she ignites the curiosity of children through reading. She writes and moms from her home in the historical hamlet Tappan, NY. McDine is a member of the SCBWI.

Connect with Donna on the Web: www.donnamcdine.com / www.donna-mcdine.blogspot.com

https://www.facebook.com/DonnaMcDineAuthor

https://twitter.com/dmcdine

About her latest book, Dee and Deb Off They Go Kindergarten First Day JittersThe anxiety of finding one’s own place and friends in kindergarten without the comfort of having her fraternal twin sister nearby at first overwhelms Dee until she realizes even without her fraternal twin sister, Dee and her classmates for the most part are in the same boat.

Find out more on Amazon.

Thank you for joining us today, Donna McDine. Can you please start off by telling us a bit about yourself? I have always enjoyed immersing in a book that has me easily blocking the distractions of the world around him and I’m striving to create that joy from my books. 

deeWhen did you first get bit by the writing bug? I fondly remember watching the television show, Lou Grant with my dad and I always found it fascinating how the research to the investigative reporting was conducting. I dreamed of becoming a reporter myself one day, but for some reason I did not follow this path. Happily I find myself many moons later writing for children. 

Why did you decide to write stories for children?

My writing bug resparked in 2007 when I came across the aptitude test for the Institute of Children’s Writing and eagerly completed the test and mailed in. To my pure joy I was accepted into the program and I’m now proud to say I have five published books to my credit.

Do you believe it is harder to write books for a younger audience?

I don’t feel it’s harder, but rather a different approach is required. Engagement and not preaching is essential in having the child wanting to come back for more.

What is your favorite part of writing for young people?

Watching their faces light up with excitement when they find a book that resonates with them and they then ask for more books along the same style or theme. It’s exciting to watch them open up the world at their fingertips.

Can you tell us what your latest book is all about?

The anxiety of finding one’s own place and friends in kindergarten without the comfort of having her fraternal twin sister nearby at first overwhelms Dee until she realizes even without her fraternal twin sister, Dee and her classmates for the most part are in the same boat. 

What inspired you to write it?

The desire to share my personal childhood experience of being separated from my fraternal twin sister for the first time and that it all turned out okay.

Where can readers purchase a copy?

Pre-orders are available at my website www.donnamcdine.com and once December 1, 2015 rolls around Dee and Deb Off They Go Kindergarten First Day Jitters will be available at Amazon, Barnes and Noble and Guardian Angel Publishing as well as my website.

What is up next for you?

I’m dusting off a long ago shelved work-in-progress with a historical fiction theme.

Do you have anything else to add?

Keep reading and never stop. The exploration of the world is endless through books.

Thank you for spending time with us today, Donna McDine. We wish you much success.

Thank you, it was a true pleasure visiting with you and your visitors today.

 

3 thoughts on “A Chat with Donna McDine, Author of ‘Dee and Deb Off They Go Kindergarten First Day Jitters’

  1. Cheryl, thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to interview me. Your questions are very thought provoking. Wishing you a lovely Christmas season. Best, Donna

Leave a Reply

