Interview with Thea Fielding-Lowe, Author of Hey Auntie, What Color is God?

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Thea Fielding-Lowe was born in Brooklyn, New York, but spent the majority of my youth growing up in Virginia Beach, Virginia. After graduating from high school, she moved to Providence, Rhode Island to attend Johnson and Wales University, where she received her Bachelor’s of Science in Business Marketing.

From 1997 until the present time, she has worked with children and families in various capacities. Some positions include working with family child care providers in supporting their home daycares through access to resources. Also, coordinating programs such “Mother Goose Asks Why?”, Toys for Tots, and food drives. Working as a community organizer, she has empowered residents to be proactive within their communities and government to make change.

Thea has a servant’s heart for the people and her Lord Jesus Christ. She was inspired by the Holy Spirit to write her first book, “Hey Auntie, What Color is God?”. This children’s story is based on a conversation that she had with her niece when she was 4 years old. Five years ago, while fasting, praying, and reading the Bible, the Holy Spirit brought the conversation back to remembrance. She wrote the conversation down and continue to edit and illustrate the story over the years. Finally completed, she heard the words of her Father in heaven “it is finished”.

Visit the author online at www.booksbythea.com ,https://www.facebook.com/thea.fieldinglowe.5 and https://twitter.com/booksbythea

Thank you for joining us today, Thea. Can you please start off by telling us a bit about yourself?

I was born in Brooklyn, New York, but spent the majority of my youth growing up in Virginia Beach, Virginia.  After graduating from high school, I moved to Providence, Rhode Island to attend Johnson and Wales University, where I received my Bachelor’s of Science in Business Marketing.

From 1997 until the present time, I worked with children and families in various capacities.  Some positions include working with family child care providers in supporting their home daycare by providing access to resources.  Also, coordinating programs such as “Mother Goose Asks Why?”, Toys for Tots, and food drives.  Working as a community organizer, I have empowered residents to be proactive within their communities and government to make change.

When did you first get bit by the writing bug?

After initially writing down the conversation I had with my niece, I did not think about making it into a story nor was I even thinking about becoming a writer.  I was just moving in the Spirit of God and following his direction.

Why did you decide to write stories for children?

After writing the first manuscript for Hey Auntie, What color is God?, I decided that I wanted to continue to write for children, because I wanted to show children how great God is and what it means to have a friend in Jesus.

Do you believe it is harder to write books for a younger audience?

I don’t believe it is hard to write for young people.  You should write what you know.  Letting your creativity flow then decide who should read your book.

What is your favorite part of writing for young people?

Though I have only written one book, my favorite part of writing was watching a child read my book.

Can you tell us what your latest book is all about?thea

Hey Auntie, What color is God? is about  a young girl named Ysa.  She tells her Auntie Tee Tee that she is afraid of the dark.  Her Auntie Tee Tee tells her when she is afraid, just say the name, Jesus.  Then Ysa asks her auntie, what color is God.  The readers are then walked through the colors of the rainbow and then told not to worry about whether God is a boy or girl or the color of his skin. But be friends with Jesus.

What inspired you to write it?

I was inspired to write Hey Auntie, What Color is God? from the Lord God.  I took a day off from work for some much needed rest and to spend time with the Lord, reading my Bible and praying.  The Holy Spirit brought the conversation back to memory and told me to right it down.  I continued to work on the story over the next 5 years.

Where can readers purchase a copy?

Readers can purchase a copy of Hey, Auntie, What color is God? currently from my personal website, www.booksbythea.com as well as my publisher, www.tatepublishing.com.  On February 4, 2014, copies can be ordered from Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, and christianbooks.com.

What is up next for you?

I am finishing up my second book titled, The Birthday Story,  in addition to shooting a pilot for a talk show.

Thank you for spending time with us today, Thea. We wish you much success.

2 thoughts on “Interview with Thea Fielding-Lowe, Author of Hey Auntie, What Color is God?

Leave a Reply

