Tremolo: cry of the loon by Aaron Paul Lazar

Tremolo_med

A beautifully written, richly detailed mystery for young adults and adults comes to you from the talented pen of Aaron Paul Lazar. Tremolo: cry of the loon features a young Gus LeGarde living at the family camp in the woods of Maine. Set in 1964, Gus and his friends (twins Elsbeth and Siegfried) run their boat aground and are forced to swim to shore. Trudging back to camp, Gus comes face-to-face with a bloody and frightened Sharon Adamski, who quickly disappears into the woods. Little does Gus know, what he sees puts him in extreme danger.

I own several books by Lazar, but haven’t had the chance to read any until now. Of course, now I know what I was missing. In this novel, Lazar creates a coming-of-age mystery with a setting that is so much a part of the story that it is almost a character itself. Tremolo: cry of the loon is filled with numerous engaging characters: from Gus’s parents and grandparents to the twins to the camp staff and a mysterious guest who arrives to stay in Cabin Fifteen. Witnessing the developing relationships among all the characters is wonderful.

From the moment I began this book I was captivated. I didn’t want to put it down until I read the last page. The twists and turns kept me engaged, while watching Gus’s mettle being put to the test made me root for him to come out victorious. Also, as a child of the 60s and 70s, the numerous historical references allowed me to feel right at home.

Tremolo: cry of the loon is the perfect summertime read. It takes that dreaded summer camp experience and turns it into an exciting, suspenseful mystery.

File Size: 531 KB
Print Length: 236 pages
Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1933353082
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publisher: Twilight Times Books (August 15, 2006)
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
Language: English
ASIN: B0042RULTM

 

I purchased a Kindle version of this book so I would be caught up with the young Gus LeGarde series when the author tours next month with the second book, Don’t Let the Wind Catch You. This review contains my honest opinions, which I have not been compensated for in any way.

2 thoughts on “Tremolo: cry of the loon by Aaron Paul Lazar

Leave a Reply

