From the Family Bookshelf – March and April

childrenreading000006462340xsmall1

It’s hard to believe we’re already into the third week of April. I should have posted this earlier, but I’ve had other commitments lately. The girls are on vacation this week, too, so we took them to New York City for the weekend. We had a fun time, but were saddened to hear about the bombings at the Boston Marathon today. Our prayers go out to all those impacted by this tragedy.

Now, onto reading. Dad is ever so slowly making his way through A Light in Zion, the fourth book of the Zion Chronicles by Bodie and Brock Thoene. he’s been a fan of their work for years. I hope I get a chance to read some of their books, as the hubby highly recommends them.

The Lil’ Diva (11) and the Lil’ Princess (9) and I have been reading almost every night together. We read Hank Zipzer: A Brand New Me by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver. This is the latest book in the series. The girls and I loved it. I want to go back and read the others. Right now, we’re working on Scarlet, the second book in The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer and Eight Keys by Suzanne LaFleur. Next up will be Emma Dilemma and the Two Nannies by Patricia Hermes and When the Butterflies Came by Kimberley Griffiths Little.

As for me, I am feel great about my reading. After overloading my review schedule for the first quarter of the year, I’m determined not to take on any new review requests at The Book Connection until I catch up. I’ve already read four books from my TBR Pile that are part of the 2013 Catch Up Reading Challenge. Here’s what I’ve read since my last post in February:

Executive Command by Gary Grossman (political thriller)

Princess April-Morning Glory by Letitia Fairbanks (fairy tale)

Just for Today by Kevin McNamme (children’s picture book)

Dangerous Impulses by F.M. Meredith (mystery)

Fairy May by Jo Linsdell (children’s picture book)

I Left My Prostate in San Francisco – Where’s Yours? by Rick and Brenda Redner (health issues)

Nate Rocks the Boat and Nate Rocks the School by Karen Pokras Toz (middle grade novels)

The Abraham Man by R. Gregory Lande (American history)

Untimed by Andy Gavin (time travel adventure)

Beyond the Valley by Rita Gerlach (Christian historical romance)

First Colors and First Numbers by tiger tales (board books)

The Kensei by Jon F. Merz (vampire novel)

What Did Jesus Say… by Reverend Terry Allan Christian (Christian nonfiction)

Lonestar Angel by Colleen Coble (Christian romantic suspense)

American Patriots by Rick Santorum (current events)

That’s it for this edition of From the Family Bookshelf. Hope you have a great week.

Leave a Reply

