Guest Blogger: Penny Estelle, Author of Billy Cooper’s Awesome Nightmare

Billy Coopers Awesome Nightmare 333x500

Billy Cooper’s seventh grade class has been given a last minute, weekend assignment. They must draw a piece of paper out of a box and prepare an oral book report on the person or event they select. Billy draws the name, William Tell, whoever that is. He has a full weekend planned, but figures he’ll do a ten minute search and then be able to skate right through the assignment, having plenty of time for his busy weekend.

His outlook changes when he finds himself in the fourteenth century, standing in front of William Tell’s house. Billy’s modern day style and lingo has William Tell thinking the lad is a bit unbalanced, but asks if he would like to go along with him and his son to the town of Altdorf. It is here Billy learns just who William Tell is and why he is a legend.

Excerpt:

Billy jumped up, took two steps backward and fell hard on his back from about four feet up, knocking the wind out of him. He was seeing blue sky and rolling green hills. An old, two-wheeled wagon was what he had fallen out of.

The old man hurried over. “You alright, lad?”

Billy jumped to his feet before the old man could help him up. “Who…who….who are you? Where am I?” Billy stuttered, panic shooting through his body.
“Easy lad,” the old man said. “I was to bring you here.”

“Bring me where? Who said to bring me? Who? This is crazy! I’m not supposed to be here!” Billy’s voice got louder.

The man pulled out a satchel of coins, smiling. “Your mother paid me well to bring you to your aunt in Uri.”

“Uri?” Billy asked. “Dude, there’s no Uri in Arizona, I don’t think, and my aunt lives in Cottonwood.”

“Jonathan is my name, lad, not Dude.” The old man reached for Billy’s head. “Maybe when you fell you became…addled in your thinking.”

“I did not become…whatever. You’ve kidnapped me! I want to go home!”

A Chat with Billy Cooper from Billy Cooper’s Awesome Nightmare

Hi everybody.  Uhm, my name is Billy Cooper and I am in the seventh grade.  I am supposed to come here today to talk about some of the stuff that happens in old lady Wickware, oops, I mean Miss Wickware’s history class.  But I’ve got to tell you talking about this makes me just a little nervous.  See, nobody actually talks about it out loud, but we all know weird things happen in her class.

Well let me just tell you my story.  On Friday, everybody in last hour class was supposed to come up and draw a name of some historical person out of a box. Anyway an oral report was due on Monday. Come on!  I had plans for that weekend – lots of cool plans.  I didn’t have time to do a report on some dude named William Tell. But here’s the thing –  after I had drawn out my piece of paper, Miss Wickware put her hand on my shoulder and I saw flash of sizzling electricity shoot from her eyes right into mine. My whole body felt like it was buzzing!  I’m not kidding, AND nobody else saw it happen.  You’ve got to admit, that is strange – right?

Anyway, I figured sometime during the weekend I would get on the computer, google this Tell guy, and find out what he did that was famous.  I would skate by on this assignment.

WRONG!  The next day, I find myself outside some house in the fourteenth century.  Not only that, the house belonged to William Tell.  Let me tell you I found out why this guy is famous. This dude was dead on with a bow and arrow.

To be honest with you, I’m not sure if he would have even made history if I hadn’t been there to help things along!

Buy links for Billy Cooper’s Awesome Nightmare

MuseItUp

Barnes & Noble

AmazonPenny - 002

 

Penny Estelle was a school secretary for twenty-one years.  She retired and moved to her fifty-four acre ranch in NW Arizona, where she lives off the grid.  Solar and wind is her only source of electricity.  What an adjustment for a city girl! 

Penny started writing for children right before retiring.  She claims after working so long with children of all ages, she has plenty of material to work with. 

Penny has three MG/tween stories out and her debut book for adults was recently released.  She also has a non-fiction story out about her life with solar! 

Penny and her her books can be found in the following links: 

www.pennystales.com

www.pennyestelle.blogspot.com

@pennystales – twitter

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5820078.Penny_Estelle – Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Guest Blogger: Penny Estelle, Author of Billy Cooper’s Awesome Nightmare

  1. I have read Hike Up Devil’s Mountain by Penny Estelle and I can hardly wait to get this one. Keep them coming Ms. Estelle

Leave a Reply

