Interview with Kathleen Allen, Author of War of FEI

war-of-fei-200x300Kathleen self-published her first book at the age of eight. Okay, she tied together several sheets of notebook paper with red ribbon, made an orange and blue construction paper book jacket and labeled it: MY POEMS. She has been writing ever since. She writes in different genres but YA fantasy is her favorite.

www.kathleensallen.weebly.com

www.gaelicfairie.webs.com

Twitter: @kathleea

Pinterest:  http://pinterest.com/kathleea/

Facebook: http://ow.ly/cWMFB

Author Central page: amazon.com/author/kallen

Books available online and in print

Book trailers available on You Tube

Thank you for joining us today, Kathleen. Can you please start off by telling us a bit about yourself?

I am an urban faerie born without wings. Or at least that’s my story.

When did you first get bit by the writing bug?

I began to make up stories as soon as I could talk and scribbled them down before I could even make letters. I began to read and write when I was three. It’s been non-stop since then.

Why did you decide to write stories for the YA market?

It appeals to me. I like the discovery of something new and bring that to my characters.

What is your favorite part of writing for this group? What is the greatest challenge?

The greatest challenge is keeping up with the current slang. LOL. The favorite part is that when you get a reader, you have them interested in your writing for a long time.

Can you tell us what your latest book is all about?

It’s about faeries. Specifically it’s about faeries who battle humans to win back their land of Fei from those who stole it. This is book 2 in the LORE OF FEI series.

What inspired you to write it?

Faeries.

Where can readers purchase a copy?

It’s an eBook so anywhere you purchase eBooks and on the publisher’s website: museituppublishing.com

What is up next for you?

I am editing a YA contemporary about a 17 year old girl who feels invisible and so she devises a way to be famous and gets into all sorts of trouble on her way to fame. It’s humorous in parts and serious in others. It’s coming out from Gypsy Shadow Publishing soon. The title is: HOW TO BECOME ALMOST FAMOUS IN TEN DAYS.

Do you have anything else to add?

WAR OF FEI is my 14th book to be published. I have short stories and novellas also available. Please check out my other writings. My latest novella is: SIN-EATER GIRL about the old Welsh legend of sin-eating set in modern times. Also, one of my YA historical fiction books, FITZROY: THE BOY WHO WOULD BE KING has been in the top 100 paid for children’s eBooks in the historical fiction category since December, 2012.

Thank you for spending time with us today, Kathleen. We wish you much success.

Leave a Reply

