Interview with Mac Fallows, Author of Wondertown

Mac Follows

Reclusive writer and composer Mac Fallows first began pitching the idea of a musical book for teens and adults to music and book publishers in the late eighties. But without the technology to support his vision, he didn’t get far.

So instead, he set out to travel the world in search of new challenges . . . and stories. He went on to write and produce over 100 songs in a dozen languages in places including Dakar, Mumbai, Prague, and Santiago for singers including Youssou N’dour, Shankar Mahadevan, Pape and Cheikh, and Kavita Krishnamoorthy.

Along the way he lived with taxi drivers and their families, camped in farmers’ fields, butchered bulls, sold tea, raised chickens, translated travel contracts, worked as a session musician, a construction worker, a teacher, and toured the biggest festivals in Europe as a member of one of Africa’s most celebrated bands.

Wondertown is the first true musical story he’s published. It includes a full-length fantasy novel, 12 related songs and 17 illustrations.

Visit the Author:

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK

Thank you for joining us today, Mac. Can you please start off by telling us a bit about yourself?

I was born and raised in Canada. I always loved to write songs and stories, and one day I had the idea to combine them in a special kind of book. That was a long time ago- and without the technology to support the product, I didn’t get far.

So instead, I traveled the world looking for ways to bring musical stories to life. To support myself, I wrote and produced over 100 songs in a dozen languages in places including Dakar, Mumbai, Prague, and Santiago for singers including Youssou N’dour, Shankar Mahadevan, Pape and Cheikh, and Kavita Krishnamoorthy. ​

Along the way I lived with taxi drivers and their families, camped in farmers’ fields, butchered bulls, sold tea, raised chickens, translated travel contracts, worked as a session musician, a construction worker, a teacher, and toured the biggest festivals in Europe as a member of one of Africa’s most celebrated bands.​ 

When did you first get bit by the writing bug?

I wrote my first song at four. I think I wrote my first story a couple of years after that. From there, I really never considered doing anything else. 

Why did you decide to write stories for children?

I started the creative process for Wondertown by telling it to my daughters, who were 4 and 6 at the time. While I knew it was going to be written for an older audience, I also knew that it needed to be simple enough for them to understand. 

Do you believe it is harder to write books for a younger audience?

I find it difficult to keep the tone consistent throughout when the audience is so much younger than you are. It’s also challenging to make sure that a twelve-year-old reader can get everything you want them to get out of the experience.

What is your favorite part of writing for young people?

They’re much less cynical so you can serve the story up in a straightforward manner. 

Can you tell us what your latest book is all about?Wondertown

Wondertown is a full-length fantasy novel that includes twelve original songs—each one an extension of the story sung by the characters themselves and seventeen illustrations from acclaimed illustrator, Emrah Elmasli.

The story centers around Neil Abbott, an undersized, introverted eleven-year-old boy with the ability to tell about people by touching their possessions. He doesn’t fit in either at home or at school and rarely speaks to anyone, with the exception of his grandmother, who has a secret talent of her own.

One day, after a particularly difficult week, Neil asks his grandmother if she thinks he’s normal, and she responds by telling him the remarkable story of an unlikely hero, who long ago crossed the five parts of the world to free his only friend from a demon lord.

Filled with hidden meaning, vivid images, and songs that bring the characters to life, Wondertown is an unforgettable journey to a place inside each of us few of us dare to go. ho long ago crossed the five parts of the world to free his only friend from a demon lord.

What inspired you to write it?

The story came to me all at once, without warning. To be honest, I really didn’t have someone or something in mind when I created it. 

Where can readers purchase a copy?

Readers can purchase a copy on iTunes.

What is up next for you?

The next installment of the trilogy! 

Do you have anything else to add?

Just that I’m grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts about my book. I hope your readers give it a try. 

Thank you for spending time with us today, Mac. We wish you much success.

 

AMAZON | ITUNES

 

Wondertown banner

2 thoughts on “Interview with Mac Fallows, Author of Wondertown

  1. Oh my, what a great idea you have here, Mac. It sounds like a terrific story and I love the cover. I’m going to check this out! I hope you have tons of luck with this venture!!!

Leave a Reply

