From the Family Bookshelf – February

childrenreading000006462340xsmall1

 

 

Welcome to the February edition of From the Family Bookshelf. But first of all, Happy Valentine’s Day! Every year we celebrate this holiday dedicated to love. If you’re interested in learning more about the legend of St. Valentine, you can visit history.com.

I’ll start off with my recent reading. The first quarter of 2013 looks like it will be filled with tons of books. I overloaded my review schedule, so I’m playing catch up. Trying to broaden my horizons, I’ve read an eclectic mix of books over the past month:

Rennefarre by Malve von Hassell, an English translation of the German children’s classic by Tamara Ramsey,

Iconic Spirits by Mark Spivak, a book that celebrates twelve spirits that changed our world and ushered in a new cocktail culture, and

Pandora’s Temple by Jon Land, an exciting thriller that plays “what if” with an ancient legend.

I’m currently in the middle of Executive Command by Gary Grossman. I’ve read the other two novels in this political thriller series. I’m sure I’ll enjoy this one.

Poor Dad is working so much lately, it’s rare he has time to read. Hopefully that will change soon.

As I mentioned last month, I am reading The Eleventh Plague by Jeff Hirsch with the Lil Diva (11) and the Lil Princess (9). It’s slightly too old for them. There’s some kissing going on and they are still at the “kissing is yucky” stage, but overall it’s a fascinating story. The conflict is going to be ramped up now and could end in a disastrous way, so I’m eager to keep going.

After we finished reading the latest Dork Diaries book, we moved on to  Diary of A Wimpy Kid: Third Wheel by Jeff Kinney. The girls loved it. I was rather cool on it. Greg Heffley never changes. He never learns anything. He’s pretty much just a self-centered boy. Not unrealistic, but annoying to me anyway. Now we are reading Emma Dilemma, the Nanny, and the Wedding by Patricia Hermes. We’ve all enjoyed it so far. Emma and her brother Tim are nervous and less than enthusiastic about their nanny, Annie, getting married. Changes aren’t easy for them, which I think is true of many kids. We’re reviewing this for the Amazon Vine program.

I am also excited to say that Circle of Secrets author Kimberley Griffiths Little has a new book coming out in April, When the Butterflies Came. It can be pre-ordered at Amazon. She will be sending the girls and I an ARC of this book to review. We’re very excited, as we absolutely loved Circle of Secrets. 

That’s it from our neck of the woods. Hope you’ve read some great books this past month.

Leave a Reply

