Life of Shouty: Good Habits by NeonSeon

Shouty ignores the advice of a man who encourages him to develop good habits. He doesn’t plan and prioritize. He chills out and relaxes. He doesn’t floss every day. His room is a disaster. He watches too much TV and his lawn is an unmanageable, overgrown mess. Looking in the mirror, he has a great vision of who he could be and begins making changes to find that person.

In this motivational children’s book geared toward ages 7 and up, the reader finds a rhyming story meant to instill good habits in kids early on. Life of Shouty: Good Habits by NeonSeon does mention important traits like setting goals, prioritizing, reading over watching TV, and taking care of your teeth. I’m not certain, however, that a book where an adult avoids paying his bills and lets his lawn grow up to his chin is the most effective for young readers. Overall, I believe the book will go over kids’ heads. While the cover art and interior illustrations are cute and whimsical, kids might not understand things like the “Something for Nothing Currency Exchange” or the “Live for the Moment funeral home.”

The main thing that caught my eye, however, is the quote on the back of the book. Here we have a book that is meant to motivate kids and it has a negative quote from Shouty on the back:

 “I have this great vision of who I could be!

As I look in the mirror, that’s not what I see.”

I would have preferred to see a more standard back cover blurb.

Shouty Mack started out as a comic strip geared toward high school students. It would work well for that market and older, but it misses the mark for younger kids. That said, I also have the second book in this series, Life of Shouty: Food & Fitness, here. I skimmed through it, and it seems much more age appropriate than its predecessor.

Rating:  🙂 🙂 🙂

  • Publisher:Rixkin
  • ISBN-10:0984206906
  • ISBN-13: 978-0984206902
  • SRP: $14.95

I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinions. I received no monetary compensation of any kind to provide my review.

Leave a Reply

