Interview with Maria Lucia, Author of Liberation: Book One of the Andrusian Chronicles

Joining us today is Maria Lucia, author of the paranormal fantasy Liberation, Book One of the Andrusian Chronicles.

Thank you for joining us today, Maria Lucia. Can you please start off by telling us a bit about yourself?

I am Cuban American and I moved to the US a long time ago when Castro first took over Cuba in 1960. I grew up in Tennessee and went to school there, all the way through college. I love animals and love hanging out with my new pup. She’s 3 ½ months old and a handful. We’re going to dog school together to get a better handle on things like jumping and chewing and chasing the kitties! I moved to Arizona about 3 months ago and I’m getting used to the heat here. It’s really hot! Like 110 and more! So I’m working on the second book and teaching the pup how to swim so she can exercise that way. I love the paranormal, spiritual, metaphysical, mystical and stories about history and the earth. I love to write about things that are happening in the world and connect them to my work. 

When did you first get bit by the writing bug?

I’ve been writing songs for a long time but I got the bug to write this story about four years ago. 

Why did you decide to write stories for the YA market?

I didn’t. It just happened. I just wrote this story because I believe in it and it has reached across many age levels. It’s great! I had no idea what kind of audience it would draw other than the obvious paranormal and fantasy reader. I was open to whatever happened. What happened was that the kids of some of the readers got a hold of the book and it has been spreading like fire. It was a pleasant surprise to me, they really relate to it. 

What is the greatest challenge?

My favorite part is that the ones that are drawn to Liberation were born loving the earth and the animals and believe in the ending of the novel as a real possibility for humanity. It’s like they already feel the story and know it. The book is about the story of the worlds of love and the races of love and what they’ve been through and how they are connected to today and what we’re going through together on this planet. That’s my favorite part about these readers that I wasn’t expecting. The biggest challenge is that I don’t have kids and feel a distance between us even though we think alike. I’d love to get closer. 

Can you tell us what your latest book is all about?

It’s an amazing story about 2 lovers who meet and are drawn to Washington D.C. and enlisted into a supernatural intelligence agency that is very secret. The agency is here to protect the United States and planet earth. But there is huge trouble because they discover a group of very evil characters who are in spirit and can’t be seen and are diverting the true course for planet earth. So the agency has to step in and a huge battle develops. The couple’s goal is to change the course of planetary destruction and complete an assignment they received before they were even born. 

What inspired you to write it?

The story came together piece by piece each time I went to walk the downtown areas of Washington D.C. I love doing this. I love visiting the monuments and getting into the energies of the founders and the old Washington when things were quite different. That’s what stirred the idea inside of me. “What if the USA and our planet had an intelligence agency that specialized in the supernatural areas of protection? And what if the headquarters were right here in downtown D.C. but no one could see them? And what if there were evil spirits involved in an unbelievable derailing of world events and it all culminated in the 21st century? In our time and current world news” well, I was on fire and I started plotting out the story. I took many autobiographical events and weaved them into the idea expanding as I went along and I began doing historical research of our beginnings as a race, and a country. I love Washington for holding this amazing energy for us all, our beginnings, how democracy came about and what our founders went through to get the idea established. It had never been done.

Where can readers purchase a copy?

If they are local and they live here in the Phoenix metro area I would love to invite them to come to Liberation’s launching party at Changing Hands Bookstore on July 21st at 7:00pm and buy it there. I would love to sign it and meet them! If they aren’t local then they can go to Amazon or to Barnes and Noble online or to any bookstore and order it.

Do you have a website and/or blog where readers can find out more?

I have both. My website is www.andrusianchronicles.com  and my blog is linked to my website. I also have a Facebook fan page that I would love for them visit and “like’ Liberation and become fans if they love it. The link is

https://www.facebook.com/MariaLuciaLiberation?v=wall&ref=ts 

What is up next for you?

I’m getting ready for the launching party that I mentioned at Changing Hands Bookstore which is taking almost all of my attention. Then I’m going to work on finishing the second book of the trilogy. 

Do you have anything else to add?

I want to thank you for featuring Liberation! I love being a part of what you do! 

Thank you for spending time with us today, Maria Lucia. We wish you much success.

 

Leave a Reply

