Interview with Bindi Irwin, International Tween Superstar and Co-creator of Bindi Wildlife Adventures

Joining us today is Bindi Irwin. Bindi is the daughter of Terri Irwin and the late Crocodile Hunter, Steve Irwin. Bindi has just co-created a fictional tween adventure series based upon her life at the Australia Zoo. We’ll talk to Bindi about her books, her dedication to conservation, and her dreams for the future.

Welcome to The Children’s and Teens’ Book Connection, Bindi. It’s an honor to have you with us. It’s inspiring to see all that you have accomplished.

Let’s talk for a moment about the Australia Zoo. You’ve grown up there. It’s an important part of your life. Could you share one of your favorite memories from the zoo?

The best thing about living at Australia Zoo is that I am surrounded by wildlife. After school every day I get to hang out with all the animals. I might feed the echidnas or hug the koalas at our wildlife hospital. One of my favourite memories would be when I was little, I’d sit in the enclosure with the newly hatched Burmese Pythons and play for ages. 

Your father had a dream. You spoke of his desire to change the world and how you wanted to continue his work. Why is this so important to you?

My dad always taught me that one man can make a difference, and I believe that one kid can make a difference too. 

My dad’s important work must continue and I’m inspired by all the support my family has received. I’m determined never to give up! 

I don’t want Dad’s passion to ever end; I want to help endangered wildlife just like he did. 

I was excited to receive a review request for the first two books in your new chapter book series: Trouble at the Zoo and Rescue. How did this series come about?

The idea behind the books was to write stories that were enjoyable to all kids and that were fictional, based on our family’s real life adventures. 

It was a lot of fun helping with the books because I was a co-creator. I got to proofread the final copy of all of the books to make sure that the facts were correct and that the story line was how I wanted it to be. I also got to pick the animals and the storylines that the books were based on. 

The first book, Trouble at the Zoo, is about my birthday at Australia Zoo and how it almost got ruined by a 10 year old boy trying to sneak one of our beautiful water dragons out of the zoo. It is fantastic! 

The second book, Rescue, is about a trip to South Africa. My friend Hannah and I discover a nature preserve for the giant stable antelope that is being used for illegal hunting at night.  It’s an exciting story! 

What do you hope children will learn from these adventures?

Children are the future and every kid can make a difference! I hope that these books get kids excited about protecting animals and the environment. I hope that kids will feel empowered to be the hero of their own story and want to make a difference in our world. 

I don’t want my dad’s passion to ever end. I’m excited to continue helping teach people all over the world about conservation. 

Where can readers buy these books?

My books are available wherever books are sold – in bookstores and online.

Do you have a website where they can learn more?

If you go to australiazoo.com you can keep up to date with all our wonderful animals, learn about our amazing conservation projects and how you can help, see the Australia Zoo Wildlife Hospital’s patient of the week and you can even adopt one of our gorgeous animals. 

If you could tell kids one thing about conservation, what would it be?

Wildlife is an important part of our world. Every time we lose an animal species it’s like losing a brick from the house, pretty soon the house just falls down. 

The single biggest thing you can do is to not buy wildlife products. Wildlife is still dying to be in fashion. 

You’ve already accomplished so much in your young life. What are a few of the dreams you’re still working on?

The Steve Irwin Wildlife Reserve is a beautiful place in Cape York that was dedicated to my dad. We are trying to protect the Steve Irwin Wildlife Reserve from being strip mined. So if you go to australiazoo.com you can sign the petition and help us with the fight. Even kids under 18 can sign it if they are in Australia.

Thank you for spending time with us today, Bindi. Good luck with your books!

 

Read our reviews of these books at https://childrensandteensbookconnection.wordpress.com/2011/05/14/bindi-wildlife-adventures-series-trouble-at-the-zoo-and-rescue/



Bookmark & Share

11 thoughts on “Interview with Bindi Irwin, International Tween Superstar and Co-creator of Bindi Wildlife Adventures

  1. This is wonderful! Young people such as Bindi are the hope of this planet, and it is marvelous to read that she has picked up the mantle.

    Thank you, Cheryl and Bindi, for this interview. It gives us hope.

  2. Thank you for sharing the wonderful interview, Cheryl and Bindi! Your father was a remarkable man, Bindi, and I can see from the interview that you take after him! All the best to you with the books and your efforts with conservation and helping animals.

  3. Pingback: Dvd Adventure Digest Blog

  4. Inspiring interview, Cheryl and Bindi. I admire your environmental activism and commitment to conservation, Bindi. Very best wishes with your books. My three year old twins love your Wiggly Safari DVD at the Australia Zoo. I will have to read your books to them next!

    Love your site, Cheryl- great interview. Keep up the fine work, Bindi. I always admired your father’s work and appreciate all you and your mother have done to continue to champion environmental stewardship and endangered wildlife. Good luck with your efforts at the Steve Irwin Wildlife Reserve and best wishes with your books.

    Kristen Zajac
    Author of “Ebeneezer’s Cousin” and “Chasing the Spirit of Service”
    http://www.kristenzajac.com

  5. What a fantastic thing you are doing, Bindi. I hope other young people will follow your lead and help protect our wildlife.

    Enjoyed the interview, Cheryl.

  6. Wonderful interview, Cheryl!!

    Bindi, my family are huge fans of your family. My daughter even had a Bindi birthday a couple of years ago. 🙂 The work you’re father did and that you are continuing is so important. Please keep it up. Good luck with your books. How exciting!

  7. Hello Bindi and Cheryl,
    I reviewed these books as well, Bindi does an excellent job of inspiring young children to take part in nature and understand that we live in a world where we need to share land and resources with the animals around us. We must work together to do our part in saving them. My children are animal lovers and my youngest saved a fish who got stuck in a narrow water way and was trying to make it to the pond, but couldn’t. My son picked the fish up and put it into the pond. After that he was so proud that he was able to save the life of an animal. After that, he was looking for more lives to save. Steve Irwin had started a legacy with is devotion to animals and conservation, Bindi has done a wonderful job keeping up with that legacy. In her youthful way, she has inspired so many. Great job Bindi, you have certainly made your father proud, and wonderful interview Cheryl.
    Renee
    http://thecryptocapersseries.blogspot.com
    http://www.reneeahand.com

Leave a Reply

