Interview with Jim Maher, Author of Hemingway Man

Jim Maher is the proud father of two (nearly three!) boys, and lives in Nanaimo, BC as a stay-at-home dad.  He started writing stories for his brother and sisters when he was five, and decided to try his hand at the rest of the world with Hemingway Man, his first novel.  Among his other pursuits are acting, hiking, attempting to become the greatest dad in the universe, and the occasional date night with his beloved wife.

Blog:

Mahervolous.blogspot.com

Facebook:

Mahervolous Books

Twitter:

http://twitter.com/#!/iguidou

Our special guest today is Jim Maher, author of young adult novel, Hemingway Man.

Thank you for joining us today, Jim. Can you please start off by telling us a bit about yourself?

I’m a stay-at-home dad in Nanaimo, BC. I trained as an actor, and then started having babies with my lovely wife, Sophia. Not exactly the ‘tortured artist’ story, but I think I’m living a pretty good life.

When did you first get bit by the writing bug?

I wrote my first book, Professor Jim, when I was five years old. Since then I’ve tried to find other things and pursuits interesting, but it always comes back to writing. Hemingway Man is my first novel.

Why did you decide to write stories for the YA market?

Young adults are the readers that will either really love your book or really hate it, and won’t be afraid to tell you either way. They’re also still able to go along on whatever ride you’re taking them on.

What is your favorite part of writing for this group? What is the greatest challenge?

My favorite part is putting myself back in that mindframe. The greatest challenge is putting myself back in that mindframe.

Can you tell us what your latest book is all about?

Hemingway Man is a coming-of-age tale about Will Charles, a sixteen-year-old who’s just lost his father. Will feels the intense pressure to become the man of the house, but having just lost the person who was supposed to guide him, he has nowhere to turn. Ernest Hemingway wrote a list of four tasks a boy must complete before he becomes a man.
1. Plant a tree.
2. Write a book.
3. Fight a bull.
4. Have a son.
Will finds the list, and takes it on himself to become the Hemingway Man.

What inspired you to write it?

‘Manhood’ and being a grown-up are such relative, gray terms that I wanted to explore what someone would do if they were handed step-by-step instructions. The Hemingway list is real, and I discovered it in much the same way as Will does in the book. I have only accomplished two out of the four, and I’ll let readers decide which two.

Where can readers purchase a copy?

Espressobooks.com and on Amazon.com.

Do you have a website and/or blog where readers can find out more?

Yes, I have a blog at mahervolousbooks.blogspot.com, and a Facebook page called Mahervolous Books.

What is up next for you?

I’m having my third son very soon, and I’m editing my next novel, Mike Logan vs. The Crosstown Horde. Busy, busy times!

Do you have anything else to add?

Thank you for the interview, and I hope everyone out there enjoys my book!

Thank you for spending time with us today, Jim. We wish you much success.



Bookmark & Share

3 thoughts on “Interview with Jim Maher, Author of Hemingway Man

  1. Hey, Cheryl. Please stop by my blog and pick up your Stylish Blogger Award.

    This is a great interview. Congratulations, Jim, on your book and on the forthcoming addition to your family.

  2. Great interview & Great book (so far) Congrats on the early success and I’m certain there is much more to come!! Super proud of you brother 🙂

Leave a Reply

