National Picture Book Writing Week – Day One

 National Picture Book Writing Week (NaPiBoWriWee) started Sunday. The challenge is to write Seven Picture Books in Seven Days. Those who know me, know I rarely turn down a challenge; especially when the challenge comes during one of my busiest times of the month. So here I am, trying to jam writing out some of the ideas I put together during Picture Book Idea Month (PiBoIdMo) last year  into an already crazy schedule. Yes, I probably should be committed.

Day One went well. I wrote a picture book I titled, “Songs My Mother Sang.” This actually wasn’t one of my PiBoIdMo ideas, but it is something that has been on my mind for a while. It is comprised of 3 songs my mother sang to me when I was a kid. I believe she made up two of the three songs. The other is a song by Jim Revees.  I’ve researched song lyrics, so if the other two aren’t her original work, maybe they are so obscure I don’t need to worry about it too much.

I want to pitch this idea to my current publisher, Guardian Angel Publishing. Their Angelic Harmony line is dedicated to musical books. I don’t know if it would be appropriate, because I don’t really have the music for it, but I can sing it. What renewed my interest in the idea was my review of Rock-a-bye Baby from tiger tales.  

We’ll see what happens with this one. For Day Two I am trying to work on a Beatrice idea.

Visit http://paulayoo.com/napi/ to learn more about National Picture Book Writing Week.

3 thoughts on “National Picture Book Writing Week – Day One

  1. Pingback: National Picture Book Writing Week – Day One « The Children's and … | Children Picture Book

Leave a Reply

