From the Family Bookshelf

I hope you’ve all been reading like good little doobies. This week the Lil Diva and Lil Princess are home for school vacation. With all that snow it seems like they weren’t in school very much anyway. It looks like the school district is going to steal three of their April vacation days to make up for all those snow days. It’s a good thing we didn’t have plans.

We’ve read so many books together lately that I couldn’t even tell you what all of them are. I think we’re by The Diary of a Wimpy Kid phase; mainly because we’ve read them all. Right now the Lil Princess is into the Junie B. Jones books, which for the record, I can’t stand. Junie B. Jones is an obnoxious, selfish little girl, and if my kids acted like she does, they would be spending more time in their rooms than at play. Not only that, the main character speaks in a ridiculous form of English that grates on my nerves. If I see the word “bestest” one more time, I’ll cross my eyes.

That said, these books are geared toward children and both my girls love them, so if they’re reading, I shouldn’t complain.

The Lil Diva is now in a Meg Cabot phase. We just finished Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls: The New Girl. This is the second book of the series. I had bought it at a Scholastic Book Fair last year, along with Books 3 & 6. We just cracked open Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls: Moving Day last night, which I purchased after realizing we didn’t have the first book. I have to admit I’m not overly fond of these books either.  I just don’t care for Allie all that much. But again, I am not meant to relate to her and her troubles. These books are geared toward kids, and my girls enjoy them, so I’ll keep reading them.

Dad finally polished of Cell: A Novel by Stephen King, and is working his way through The Reagan I Knew by William F. Buckley Jr. While we were in Barnes and Noble at the beginning of the month, we saw another Reagan book I thought he would be interested in, but I didn’t order it in time for Valentine’s Day. A fact made worse when dear ole Dad pulled the entire Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman series on DVD out of his desk drawer for my present.

I’ve been reading, I just haven’t posted that many reviews lately. I have tons of books I need to review for virtual book tours through May, so more reviews and news will be on the way.

Here is what I’ve read since the last From the Family Bookshelf column on January 12th:

 With My Rifle by My Side by Kimberly Jo Simac (children’s picture book)

The Battle of Lexington by Jonas Clark (historical narrative)

Losing Your Only by Dr. Debi Yohn (self-help–coping with losing your only child)

Angel Lost by F.M. Meredith (police procedural) – Coming in March!

The Tudor Secret by C.W. Gortner (historical spy thriller)

Resurrection Garden by Frank Scully (historical mystery)

The Innocent by Vincent Zandri (thriller)

Nimby  by Jasper Tomkins (children’s picture book)

I’m currently reading, The Secret Life of Emily Dickinson by Jerome Charyn

That’s it for this issue of From the Family Bookshelf. Until next time, keep reading!



Bookmark & Share

One thought on “From the Family Bookshelf

  1. Pingback: From the Family Bookshelf « The Children's and Teens' Book Connection | Children Picture Book

Leave a Reply

