Interview with Maggie Fechner, Author of Growing Up Gracie

Joining us today is Maggie Fechner author of the young adult novel,  Growing Up Gracie. Maggie wrote her first book in First Grade for the Young Author’s program. She received a Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and has worked as a reporter for several newspapers.

Thank you for joining us today Maggie. Can you please tell us about yourself?

I am a wife and mother who loves to eek out a little extra time to write. I also enjoy portrait photography, boating, and being with my family. I am an obsessive hobbiest and when I get involved in something I have a hard time focusing on anything else.

When did you get bit by the writing bug?

I have been writing since a young age. My mom helped me make my first “book” with a wrapping paper cover when I was only four. I carried that love of writing into college and graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Journalism. I worked as a newspaper reporter before quitting to be a full-time mom. Since then I have gone back and forth with writing as much as I can.

Why did you decide to write stories for young adults?

I decided to gear this book toward young adults because “Gracie,” my main character, struggled with feeling average and ordinary. To me, the teenage years are the time we struggle with these feelings the most.

Do you believe it is harder to write books for a younger audience?

No, I feel connected with this age group because the memories of my own teenage years are still fresh in my mind.

What is your favorite part of writing for young people?

I love that this book can be picked up and read in a few days and resonate with many teenagers, specifically girls. My hope is that my readers would recognize themselves in Gracie and know that even an ordinary life can become extraordinary.

Can you tell us what your latest book is all about?

Growing up Gracie is the story of an average girl sandwiched in the middle of five siblings. Her family is LDS (or members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints). The book shares her journey toward finding what makes her unique, finding that true friendships are paramount, and finding a beautiful enduring love.

What inspired you to write it?

When I first sat down to write this book I had an infant baby girl and I wanted her to know that Heavenly Father has made each of us unique and wonderful. I was inspired to let her know she could accomplish anything.

Where can readers purchase a copy?

In Deseret Bookstores across Utah and Southern Idaho. Online at Barnes and Noble, Borders, Amazon, Deseret Book, and Cedar Fort.

Do you have a website or blog where readers can find out more?

My author’s blog is www.maggiefechner.blogspot.com

What is up next for you?

I am in the very early stages of a second novel in the Fremont Family Series (of which Growing Up Gracie will be the first).
I am also currently nearing a finished rough draft on a mainstream historical fiction novel.

Thanks for spending time with us today. We wish you all the best.

Note: Look for my review of Growing Up Gracie, coming soon!



Bookmark & Share

One thought on “Interview with Maggie Fechner, Author of Growing Up Gracie

Leave a Reply

