PiBoIdMo 2010 – Idea #21

Oh my goodness, only 9 days left. I can do it, I can do it. Fingers crossed, send up a prayer, find my ideas from everywhere.

Idea #21

What if?

Have you ever watched Veggie Tales? There’s a segment in each video called “Silly Songs with Larry”, which is where, as they explain it, “Larry sings a silly song.” These are so memorable that my girls can sing them out of the blue.

When I went over to Tara’s blog today,  Brianna Caplan Sayres was talking about listening to yourself to find picture book ideas. I realized as I read her inspiring post that I make up silly songs for my girls all the time. Here’s a favorite one (hopefully it won’t make you think I’m weird. 🙂

“I’ve got hair on  my butt.

I’ve got hair on my butt.

I don’t know why,

but it keeps me warm and dry,

I’ve got hair on my butt.”

Today, I got this wild idea about creating a silly book based upon some silly songs I could create. There would probably be some rhymes in it, but I don’t know if all of it would be that way. The important thing is that each page would start with, “What if?…”

* the mailman delivered milk?

* green beans were red?

* the sky was purple?

These aren’t great, but I’m coming up with them on a whim. Maybe something like this could inspire imagination.

Want to learn more about PiBoIdMo? Visit http://taralazar.wordpress.com/.



Bookmark & Share

4 thoughts on “PiBoIdMo 2010 – Idea #21

  1. I have a friend who wrote a what if book – it’s something to do with if the trees were upside down or the sky or grass or whatever – but it’s based on a poem that she wrote. It was done for her grands and great grands and she self-published so my guess is that hasn’t made the rounds of being available in too many places – if I can find it online, I’ll let you know – E 🙂

Leave a Reply

