PiBoIdMo 2010 – Idea #9

Blogging has taken a back seat the past couple of days, so I’ll be posting this idea and backdating it to yesterday.

Idea #9

The Princess and the Kingdom of Numbers

This is a very rough idea because I know what I want to accomplish, but not how to do it yet.  My oldest daughter struggles with some math concepts, so I figured this might be a good way to help her along. When I see this princess in her Kingdom of Numbers, I can’t help but think of my Lil Diva.

Some of the concepts she is struggling with are:

  • Estimation
  • Place value
  • Greater than and Less than
  • Regrouping

What I would like to do is put together a book where the numbers have run away and the princess needs to find all of them, but I also need to figure out how to work one of these concepts in there. If I was able to swing it, then I could create additional Princess in the Kingdom of Numbers titles that encompass other concepts with the numbers up to some silly antics. The point would be to make this a really fun book, but allow the kids to learn at the same time.  I’m always open to suggestions. 🙂

Want to learn more about PiBoIdMo? Visit http://taralazar.wordpress.com/.



Bookmark & Share

2 thoughts on “PiBoIdMo 2010 – Idea #9

Leave a Reply

