PiBoIdMo 2010 – Idea #8

Another day, another idea. I hope my imagination keeps up with my desire. Today’s idea stays in line with the others that take a Biblical event and tell it from a child’s perspective.

Idea #8

Joshua Meets the Tax Collector

This idea is relatively rough and the title is horrible, but I thought this story could be neat to write about from a child’s perspective. The Gospel of Luke tells us of the day that Zacchaeus climbed a tree so that he could see Jesus.

Zacchaeus was a hated man in Jericho. As a tax collector, he was also a very wealthy man. Zacchaeus had heard of Jesus and wished to see Him, but the crowd following Jesus was so large,  and Zacchaeus so short, that he couldn’t see Him at all. So, Zacchaeus decided to climb a sycamore tree. When Jesus passed his way, He told Zacchaeus to come down out of the tree so that He could have supper at his house.  The people weren’t happy. Why would Jesus want to eat with him? After meeting with Jesus, Zacchaeus promised to give half of everything he owned to the poor. He also said that if had cheated anyone, he would repay them four times more than he took.

This could be a tricky idea, as the young boy, Joshua, in  my story would not be privy to Zacchaeus and Jesus’ meeting; but maybe it could go something like this:

Joshua despises the tax collector, especially after his most recent visit to their house where he took more than was owed. When Joshua hears the commotion on the road, he goes out and sees Zacchaeus in the tree. He pushes through the crowd and sees Jesus speaking to him. Perhaps he only overhears tidbits of the conversations of others who are griping about Jesus going to Zacchaeus’ house for supper.  He also becomes angry over it. Why would Jesus consider eating with such a horrible man? Then the next day, Zacchaeus returns to Joshua’s house and pays back more than what he took from his father, leaving Joshua to contemplate what truly happened during that supper.

I’m really not entirely sure if this works yet, but it came to my mind, as I’ve always loved this story. There’s a song about Zacchaeus from Integrity Music that captured this moment well. I don’t remember all the lyrics, but here are some of them:

“I’m short. and I’m fat, and I ain’t too pretty,

But I’m the richest man in the city.

It doesn’t do me any good,

I don’t live like I should.

And so I, have to see Jesus,

Climb up a tree, I have to see Jesus,

I hope he sees me, I have to see Jesus,

My name is Zacchaeus.”

Want to learn more about PiBoIdMo? Visit http://taralazar.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

