The Raindrop by Brian D. McClure

 “I am just a raindrop; I am smaller than small. What am I doing here? I have no use at all…”

And so begins the story of the Raindrop, who questions his own worth as a smaller than small thing. As the Raindrop follows the others out of the clouds, gets soaked into the ground, comes flying through a hose, back into the soil, quenching a stalk of corn,  and then back again, he discovers just how important he is.

This is a well-written, beautifully illustrated book. The Raindrop’s face displays so much emotion, that even if readers are too young to fully understand the message, they will know what the Raindrop is experiencing.

With The Raindrop, readers are treated to an enjoyable story along with a touch of science and a great message. Through lyrical prose the author shares the Raindrop’s journey and all he learns along the way. While at times the message can be a bit stronger than I like to see in a children’s book, I understand that the author is seeking to empower children to reach their full potential and to make a difference.

Rating:  🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  • Publisher: Universal Flag Publishing
  • ISBN-10: 1933426012
  • ISBN-13: 978-1933426013
  • SRP:  $14.95


  • Bookmark & Share

    3 thoughts on “The Raindrop by Brian D. McClure

    1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Review of The Raindrop by Brian McClure TC&TBC -- Topsy.com

    2. I’ve heard of this book before and I think it sounds like a great book for kids. I really like the cover.

    3. Pingback: From the Family Bookshelf « TC&TBC

    Leave a comment