Children’s Authors Blog Hop

Blog Hop button

I’ve been invited to join this Children’s Author Blog Hop by fellow author Sherry Rossman. She answered a set of questions at her blog, Moose Musings from the Moose Room. She has tagged me to participate, and in turn I’ll tag fellow children’s authors who will be posting their answers at their blogs in the coming days.

What are you working on right now?

I’m working on editing and completing a middle grade historical novel that has been in the works for the past few years.

Little ShepherdHow does it differ from other works in its genre?

I’ve gone back to the classics, using Lucy Maud Montgomery’s Anne Shirley as inspiration. I’ve always loved the character of Anne. Her feisty and impulsive nature is something I can relate to. She unintentionally gets herself into trouble. And she is filled with imagination. Anne also dealt with a fair amount of adversity before and after coming to Green Gables.

My character, Amelia, has lost both of her parents to an influenza epidemic. She is sent to live with her father’s sister, a spinster living on the family’s estate in Massachusetts. The family was a founding member of the community and Amelia’s aunt, Martha, expects her to act accordingly. Amelia is impulsive. She doesn’t enjoy the expectations that she must act a certain way or befriend only certain people because of her social status.

This project, titled Amelia’s Mission, also combines the challenges of the Reconstruction period in America. Amelia’s best friend is the African-American stable boy on the family estate.  Aunt Martha doesn’t approve and interferes to the point where she sends Amelia off to a boarding school to keep them apart.

Why do you write what you do?cover wrap.indd

I love historical fiction. I read a great deal of it. I’m also interested in the Civil War. My collection of nonfiction titles on the conflict is the only one that rivals my Laura Ingalls Wilder collection. I also enjoy fiction set during this time period. I wanted to find a way to have a feisty, impulsive girl like Anne or Laura in a book, but also place her in an era where she was expected to act a certain way based upon her gender and social status.  In addition, I’m a hopeless romantic. There is a secret in Aunt Martha’s past Amelia works to uncover that involves a former beau.

What is the hardest part about writing?

Simply not having enough time to write. I work from home and I have two young girls. This doesn’t allow me a lot of freedom for writing. I feel blessed that I’ve been able to create six new picture books this year. I’ll work on editing those and submitting them to publishers, but I also really want to complete Amelia’s Mission.

What is something unique you want readers to learn about you?

I feel it’s very important to give back to our communities and to support fellow authors. That’s why I’m involved in our church and run so many blogs. It’s also important for me to set an example for my children.  Personal success comes not only from your own achievements, but also through how much you lend a helping hand to those in need.

Now I’m tagging the following children’s authors:

Antje

Antje Hergt at her GoodReads blog: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7143587.Antje_Hergt/blog. She is the author of Darinel Dragon Hunter released in June by MuseItUp Publishing.

donna

Donna J. Shepherd and Topsy Turvy Land. Donna is the author of the Topsy Turvy series, Where is Salami?Bradybug, Ava’s Secret Tea Party, and more from Guardian Angel Pubishing. Find her site at http://www.topsyturvyland.com/.

Kay LaLone, who is the author of Ghostly Clues from MuseItUp Publishing. You can find her at http://kaylalone.weebly.com/blog.html

kay

Victora

 

Victoria Roder, the author of An Important Job to Do: A Noah’s Ark Tale, a picture book from Dancing Bear Publishing, and the young adult paranormal novel, The Curse of King Ramesses II from Wild Child Publishing. You can find her blog at http://victoriaroder.blogspot.com/

8 thoughts on “Children’s Authors Blog Hop

  1. Thank you for the tag and the great answers! You are right one of the hardest things about writing is to find time!

  2. Great interview! Nice of you to tag these other authors. I have Darinel The Dragon Hunter in my Ipad now and am hoping to start reading it in the next week. I’ll check out the rest of the tagged authors next.

Leave a Reply

